Connect with us


National Wild Turkey Federation Announces Conservationists of the Year



The National Wild Turkey Federation celebrated conservation achievements and lasting partnerships in an innovative way during its Virtual 45th Convention and Sport Show. “As spring approaches, we look forward to chasing gobblers and getting new hunters outdoors, but we are already looking forward to getting the flock back together in Nashville for our 46th Convention and Sport Show, which will be one for books,” said NWTF CEO Becky Humphries .

COVID-19 restrictions prevented the NWTF from hosting its highly-anticipated annual Convention and Sport Show in its traditional setting, which is known for exceeding 50,000 guests during the week-long event. Typically held at Nashville’s Gaylord Opryland Resort and Convention Center, the NWTF ultimately determined hosting its 2021 event virtually would provide the best experience for the most people while keeping everyone safe.

The NWTF is grateful to Bass Pro Shops founder Johnny Morris for allowing the NWTF to host portions of the event at Johnny Morris’ Wonders of Wildlife National Museum and Aquarium in Springfield, Missouri.

“While it was not the typical convention we are all used to, this year’s virtual convention was a great way for us to still celebrate our milestones throughout the year, share fellowship, promote our great conservation work and get excited for the 2021 spring turkey season,” NWTF CEO Becky Humphries said. “We are extremely eager to see everyone in Nashville in 2022.”

The NWTF provided online convention attendees with a revolutionary virtual experience where guests, at their leisure, could interact with each other, visit exhibitor booths, win prizes and access loads of exclusive content, all from a simulation of Johnny Morris’ Wonders of Wildlife National Museum and Aquarium.

“The NWTF rose to many challenges last year, and we are so happy that we were still able to celebrate all of our accomplishments” Humphries said.

2021 Convention Award Winners

Communicator of the Year

Mike Chamberlain, Ph.D., University of Georgia

Corporate Achievement Award

Bass Pro Shops/Cabela’s

Dick Kirby Award

Mike Pentecost, Woodhaven Custom Calls, AL

Government Partner Award

Sen. Steve Daines (R-MT)

Henry S. Mosby Award

Jason Hardin, Texas Parks and Wildlife

Lynn Boykin Hunting Heritage Award

Richard Childress, NC

Roger Latham Awards

Richard Plattenberger, NC
Ralph Martone, PA
Mike Waters, SC
Craig White, TX
Richard Williams, AZ

Wayne Bailey Lifetime Achievement Award

Gary Norman, VA

Wildlife Law Enforcement Officer of the Year

Tanner Riley, SC


Newsletter Sign Up


Copyright © 2021 Brand Avalanche Media, LLC. Popular Outdoorsman is a wholly owned subsidiary of Brand Avalanche Media, LLC. This copyrighted material may not be republished without express permission. The information presented here is for general educational purposes only. MATERIAL CONNECTION DISCLOSURE: You should assume that this website has an affiliate relationship and/or another material connection to the persons or businesses mentioned in or linked to from this page and may receive commissions from purchases you make on subsequent web sites. You should not rely solely on information contained in this email to evaluate the product or service being endorsed. Always exercise due diligence before purchasing any product or service. This website contains advertisements.